22 Year Old College Student Diagnosed

(lyleac) #1

Hi everyone.  I am a 22 y/o college student going into my senior year this fall.  I was shocked with my sudden diagnoses of Type 1 diabetes this past Wednesday, May 28, 2009.  I have no family history, and am an otherwise healthy and active individual.  So, my diagnosis came as quite a surprise.  I went to the doctor because of my feeling excessively thirsty (and being unable to quench that thirst), and using the bathroom too many times during the middle of the night.

Are there any other folks here who were diagnosed in the midst of college?  I loved going out and having beers with my friends, and eating pizza and burgers on occasion...Is all of this going to change now?

(therese) #2

Hi Allen,

I am so glad that you recognized your symptoms, and are now being treated.  I am a Mom of a 2 college students and would recommend  keeping your active lifestyle but just testing and correcting often.  At least 4 times/day but probably more.  I tell my son to take a few seconds to test and correct as often as he checks his cell phone texts.  Ok, not quite that often. 

As long you cover the carbs with insulin you can still have burgers, pizza, etc..  Check out this site for carb numbers on most fast foods if you have a few regular favorites.  http://www.diabetesnet.com/diabetes_food_diet/fast_foods.php