Adult Onset Type 1 Diabetes

(Carol) #1

I am 68 years old. Due to a severe case of pancreatitus in November 2016 I no longer produce insulin. I am on Lantus and Novalog. I have reduced my A1C from 12.8 to 6.2. But, I have dramatic swings in blood sugar readings, from 60 fasting to 250 at the end of the day. I am a serious carb counter and try to keep it below 60 g per day.

I have some questions:
How do adults incorporate exercise without a big drop in blood sugar?
Are my blood sugar swings normal or should they be more constant?
I am taking 3-7 units Novalog before meals and snacks. Is this too much?

Most of you at my age have had T1D for many years and probably have moved way beyond my concerns. But, any help would be greatly appreciated.

(Dennis J. Dacey, PWD) #2

Hi Carol @cpeitersen,
Diabetes and diabetes management doesn’t really change much as the years go on, I was diagnosed with diabetes when you were 7 and I’m still learning “new” techniques and management skills. Yes, insulin [I began using poorly refined insulin from animals] and our tools and gadgets make our living so much simpler - back then it took blood was drawn from a vein and poured over yeast to get a blood sugar reading in a couple of days.

I’ve lived with BG swings like yours and now I’ve eliminated many, but not always. The “trick” is to study your own body - you are your primary doctor - and observe how various foods, activities and insulin affect you. Work on one adjustment at a time and monitor heavily… A couple of examples: