Always High

(Amanda) #1

My BS is always between between 200 and over 500. I don’t do anything to make it go that high, but it always is! Any explanation?

(Dennis J. Dacey, PwD) #2

Amanda @AAT1D, it may not be in the 200 to 500 range because of something you are doing, it may be because of something you are NOT doing. Are these readings an hour or two AFTER your meals?

My urgent suggestion, especially if the 200 - 500 readings are before meals, is that you talk very soon with a good endocrinologist and try to formulate an approach to bring you BG down some. For instance, the amount of insulin that was prescribed for you when diagnosed at age 8 is most not sufficient for you at age 13 - your body, everyone’s body, is constantly changing and you may need more insulin, of insulin at different times, to counteract your developing hormones.
I’m not a medical doctor, so please don’t act on anything I suggest with out talking to medical professionals who know you.

(Amanda) #3

They are after I exersise and other times during the day.

(Dennis J. Dacey, PwD) #4

Thanks Amanda.
If I engage in strenuous exercise - anaerobic rather than aerobic - my glucose tends to rise. What causes this, a very basic explanation, is that my muscles tend to give off signals saying they are being starved so my body does what is designed - tells my liver to release glucose / glucagon into my blood stream to feed those muscles.
right now, I try to stay alert to a “burning” sensation in my muscles when working out and stop or change my activity to something else.

(Amanda) #5

Thx Dennis for the help. :slight_smile:

(joe) #6

@AAT1D hi yea, Amanda… if always means every single test pre-meal and otherwise… it’s time to go to the doctors office.

things that make me high: stress, the flu, eating and forgetting to take insulin, not taking enough insulin, Chinese food (especially General Tso chicken but that sauce is sooo good), and anytime I am on an airplane.