Discrimination and being proactive (and other questions)

(kdrake88) #1

Reading a blog earlier, and along with some self reflection earlier today, I wanted to ask everyone if they would like to share some stories where they felt they have been discriminated against... Personally I have some fairly frustrating stories which I believe hinder my attitude about diabetes...

As I've mentioned before, I am studying to be a Special Education teacher and ironically enough have to do a project on Diabetes as it is recognized as OHI (Other Health Impairment) under IDEA. I wanted to know, as Diabetics, what route you think I should take to best educate other future Special Educators so future students do not have the negative experiences that we have had.

Another question...do you guys ever feel like the room is tilting or you are falling over even when you may be sitting or standing still? I'm not sure if everyone feels this at times or if it even pertains to Diabetes...I'm thinking part of it has to do with having a lot of fat content for dinner... but i haven't noted any similarities when it has happened before...suggestions?? (other than seeing a dr. lol)

(Sarah_0776) #2

[quote user="Kim"]Another question...do you guys ever feel like the room is tilting or you are falling over even when you may be sitting or standing still? I'm not sure if everyone feels this at times or if it even pertains to Diabetes...I'm thinking part of it has to do with having a lot of fat content for dinner... but i haven't noted any similarities when it has happened before...suggestions?? (other than seeing a dr. lol)[/quote]

Interesting question...I've noticed many times that I feel like I am leaning way to the side when I'm sitting straight. I've never thought to ask other people about it though.

(kdrake88) #3

Yay sarah for being the first to reply!!! lol I've been anxiously waiting...

I wonder why that is that we feel the world tilting...or us rather...

(Anonymous) #4