Exercise - what do you do?

(Payton) #1

So this is the diabetes athletes forum - what is your preferred workout?

I'm really into lifting - my current program is adapted from Arnold S.'s body building encyclopedia. Also do cardio and yoga. I workout 5-7 days a week and I love it.

What does everyone else do?

(Morgan) #2

I do a mix a strenght training and cardio a couple times a week. I mostly ride my horses. But that also means cleaning stalls, so I get a good workout!

(Charlie Kimball) #3

Well I end up doing a lot of different workouts to keep in shape for my job.  I am a professional racing driver and while most people think I just sit down all day for my job it really is quite demanding physically and mentally.  If I am not in good enough shape, my mental concentration lets me down and I make mistakes or just don't do as well as I know I can.  So I end up doing a lot of cardio- running, swimming, cycling; as well as weights to keep strong enough.  I am trying to stay lean so the car is as light as possible so that means I don't do anything to 'bulk' up.

When I am doing my intensive winter training program, it is twice a day, 6 days a week for the length of the off season (8 weeks or so).  Each workout session is between and hour and two.  When I first start that hard- it kills me!  I sleep like 14 hours a day, but by the second week I have so much energy.

I use a CGM and that really helps me keep an eye on what's happening with my body while I am exercising.  I really notice a difference in my effectiveness when my sugars are doing different things. And I notice that different workouts affect me differently for differing lengths of time!

(sullivannc) #4

Athletics is a main focus in my life.

I run 5 to 10 miles a day for my Track and Cross Country teams,

and I do an upper body workout every other day.

I train so much that I only have to take one shot of basal insulin a day.

It has been like this for over 8 months!!