Flying with type one

(annab_0709) #1

I was diagnosed with t1d about a year ago, I will be flying for the first time this Saturday. Does anyone have any tips, advice, or anything I need to know? I wear an omnipod and dexcom CGM.

(patel41480) #2

Keep your meds with you. I usually pack my stuff in a larger purse. Keep extra food/candy with you, just to be on the safe side. If you’re flying to a different time zones figure out the best way with your meals/snacks. It may be wise to get a official document from your Dr. stating that you have T1D and that you need these meds–if you have time.

(Patrick) #3

Monitor your blood sugar closely. There is some research showing the change in cabin pressure can cause overdosing from the pump. I, personally, have not had many issues, and I have been flying while wearing a pump for 17 years. @patel41480 is right, it sometimes helps to get a doctor’s note, and keep your meds in your carry-on. DO NOT go through the “body scan” machines. Ask TSA for an alternative screening while explaining that you wear an insulin pump. The pumps can be affected by the Scanners and X-Ray machines. You will be fine walking through a metal detector, though. Just tell the TSA agent that you are wearing an insulin pump. They are trained to handle that and screen you appropriately.

Safe travels!

(Dennis J. Dacey, PWD) #4

Hi @annab_0709, I would recommend that at the least, you suspend pump operations when taking off and landing. I’ve flown many times without turning off or disconnecting my pump and on a few occasions have had to treat a severe low while in the air; my pumps have all used tubing.

On my last four air flights I suspended my pump and physically disconnected and my BG levels stayed steady - it may have been just coincidence. If you van suspend and/or disconnect readily I’d recommend doing that; the old “ounce of prevention” thing.