HELP! Insulin is causing weight gain before my wedding

(Jacks01230) #1

Hi all, I am new to Juvenation and really hope someone has some advice for me.  I just started insulin a few weeks ago and have already gained almost 15 pounds!!!! ahh!!  I am getting married on March 20, 2010, only 2 and half months away.   I have the most amazing fiancé who is incredibly supportive and would love me at any size.  However, I just bought a very expensive dress and need it to fit!!  I have pushed my fitting back a bit to try to lose the weight because I will not be able to get into the size I ordered.  I am in a total panic.  

Any advice would be soooooo appreciated!

(JDVsMom) #2

HI Jackie,

FIrst - welcome to Juvenation - it is a great place to find support and ask questions, whether you are new or 'old' to T1 diabetes, but esp. if you are new. I am guessing that you probably were not feeling great for quite a while and had maybe lost quite a bit of weight either recently or over time - this was a symptom of the diabetes eating away at your muscle mass because it could not use the sugar in your blood for energy because you didn't have enough insulin. Weight gain right after diagnosis is pretty common and in most cases it is a return to 'normal' or healthy weight. Because your body can finally use the carbs you are eating for energy, it can rebuild your muscle mass and fat stores. This probably doesn't help much with the problem of your dress fitting - but you are much more likely to be at or near a healthier weight than before you were diagnosed.