How Do I Handle It All?

(madzrost) #1

Hey everyone! My name is Maddie, and I am really new to the world of Type 1 Diabetes (I was diagnosed November 30th, 2016). I am just looking for any tips/trick/general advice on how to balance diabetes, college, work, and life in general.

(Dennis J. Dacey, PwD) #2

Hi Maddie @MadzRost,

You are in a very difficult position right now being pulled in at least four different directions at once.

My suggestion would be to relax [yeah, I know] and concentrate first on being yourself, accepting and liking yourself and somehow accept that for the last 3 1/2 months you have been living with a condition that will demand your attention for the rest of your life; learn about T1 and how it affects YOU, but don’t let it rule your life - yes, you will learn to manage, nut not ever really control, so that it becomes not much more than a background annoyance. And who knows, with the many new tools soon to an approved and readily available much weight will be lifted from your shoulders; I was diagnosed 60 years too early.

For the next year or so, you will be experiencing and learning so I ask you to feel free sharing what you feel and probably ask questions as you move ahead - many folks here have experience and will freely offer you guidance. You’ve probably heard this before, eat moderate amounts and observe how various foods affect YOUR BG and use information you observe for adjusting activity and insulin dosage. There is really nothing in life that you will not be able to achieve.

Certainly you will have some great swings in your blood sugar levels - don’t let some unexplained high or low get you depressed - we all have those figure out if you can the cause make corrections. “Lowes” are the more frightening for me so I always carry some granola bars with me when out - a good tasting way to bring up my BG with a combination of quick-acting carb and the more complex carbs to provide duration.

Message me anytime,

(marshalj) #3