How do u eat?

(Nicole) #1

I have 3 doses and day plus lantus at night I’m new to this idk how to eat I’m suppose to take before I eat but what if eat to much? And I’m also suppose to take other meds like for anxiety and pain and ADHD I’m scared to take these now with insulin I was taking metformin and it was fine does anyone have suggestions

(cmanton) #2

I know this probably isn’t what you were hoping to hear, but I think you really need to talk to a doctor or a Certified Diabetes Educator, especially about how your other meds could be impacted.

As for meals…has anyone talked to you about counting carbs? This is also something a Certified Diabetes Educator would really help with. Basically, everyone requires a different amount of insulin to eat carbs. You have to figure out what your ratio is (for instance, 1 unit of insulin per 10 g carbs), then you adjust your insulin based on what you’re going to eat. Once you get the hang of it, you’ll do great! But it really is something you need to consult with a professional about at first.

I understand the fear, as I was also turned loose into the wild without any instruction about insulin dosing at first. I highly encourage you to seek out the answers you need from certified educators. It will make your life a lot easier.

(Nicole) #3

Thanks. Ya I have a chart I’m getting use to it a lil just scary . But I do have appointment with a dietician

(sneathbupp) #4

Hang in there! I was diagnosed T1d 9 months ago. It took a while to figure out the insulin amount for meals. I also had to adjust my Lantus dose. The book “Think Like a Pancreas” helped a lot. It gets easier. Definitely talk to a certified diabetes educator and your doc about all your meds. Good luck!

(June) #5

Understanding carb counting and insulin ratios is key. If you have a smart phone, there are numerous apps that can assist with carb counting. I find CalorieKing to be a good resource.

(Gabriela) #6

Hi!