I like the pump, but I don't know if I like having something attached at all times

(Travis_Emerson) #1

Trust me, a big selling point of the pump is me bieng able to eat more.

But the things I like about shots, is that I take one, and I'm done, nothing left, or attached.

I just don't know if I want something slapping agaisnt my thigh when I run, and weighing me down.

(Nads) #2

Travis, I can understand what you mean, but I think the advantages to having a pump far outweigh the disadvantages in the long "run" (No pum intended!).  Maybe you could try one of those accessories that thy call a "thigh thing", where you basically have a stretchy band wrapped around your thigh and it has a pocket for the pump, therefore keeping it snugly in place.

I'm relatively new to pumping, but I view it as an opportunity for me to get creative...  I keep thinking up new contraptions that I could make so that I don't always have to clip the pump to my waistband.  Can you tell that I enjoy doing crafts?!?

(Anonymous) #3

I've had similar problems with it :)
I have yet to solve my running issues. Usually, I just slip it in the pocket of my pants, but every once in a while if it gets jostled it will fall out and yank on the infusion set. Which, as you can probably imagine, isn't much fun. Lately I've resorted to holding it in my hand while I run, which isn't that convenient either.
But as far as having something attached to you goes:
For a while after I was diagnosed, I was all about the pump. Bouncing around the doctor's office 'can I get it? can I get it?' And much to my dismay, 'No, not until you've been diagnosed a year.' One year later: 'can I? can I? can I?' 'Umm.... no. Not until you're out of your honeymoon period.'