Independence

(BookwormNerd13) #1

Hey!
So as many of you know, I’m 15 years old and a freshman in high school. Lately I’ve been spending more and more time away from home (going to the mall with friends, having sleepovers, etc) and that means I’ve been pretty much independent with managing my T1. And in a few years I’ll go to college and be completely on my own.
But I still text or call my mom whenever I’m eating and she’s not there. I’m not very good at figuring out how much insulin to do… when there’s a carb count I’m fine but a lot of restaurants don’t provide those and without one, I literally have no idea how many units to give myself. I really want to get better at that because I know when I go to college I won’t be able to call my mom every time I eat, but I don’t even know where to begin. It’s getting pretty discouraging.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks :slight_smile:

(Dennis J. Dacey, PWD) #2

Abby,
It appears to me as if you are on the right track - a positive attitude and being very proactive with your management skills.
Restaurant foods are the hardest for me and that is oft times a little of the cause for my BG readings to take excursions into the stratosphere. If you are electronically savoy there are some good apps for computers and phones that list carbohydrates; such as CarorieKing which I use from time-to-time - I also have the CalorieKing handbook that lists carbs, calories, fats for many individual homemade foods as well as restaurants and fast-food places.
When you go away to college, as well as at your present high school, the school dietitian should be able to provide you with carb counts for serving size of all foods served. Schedule a meeting - I’ve found that dietitians [and chefs] are more than happy to help. My primary method for carb counting which works much of the time is “the old eye-ball” method where I, in effect, compare a serving size to that which I put on my plate at home.

(Jeanne) #3