Infusion Sets

(system) #1

Hi folks,

I am looking for some feedback as to your favourite Animas infusion set.  I tried both the 90-degree angle and the 30-degree angle sets when I met with the sales rep.  I like how the 90-degree set comes prepackaged with the tubing but I feel like it will be more likely to pull out.  Also, the 30-degree set stung less when I put it in (but that may have just been location - having only tried each type of infusion set once, I don't have a very large sample size for comparison!).  In any case, I can't decide which I prefer.  Any input will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Laura

(Nads) #2

Hi Laura,

I've been using the Animas 2020 pump since late November 2008.  At the time that I was trained, the nurse showed me both the 90° and the 30° automatic infusion sets, but she didn't recommend either because she claimed it's common for the tape to get all bunched up when you use them and you end up wasting a whole set.  Instead, she introduced me to the Comfort Short infusion set.  It is a manual type, so you have to actually inject it yourself, on an angle of between 15 and 45°.

At first, being new to the whole thing, I would get so nervous when it came time to change my site that I would shake like a leaf when it came to inserting the needle, which made it a little more difficult.  However, after about 4 or 5 times, I became a lot more comfortable with the whole idea and now it is pretty much painless and effortless!  I guess the only limitation is that you cannot be afraid of needles, as I understand that some diabetics still are!

The other thing I just tried was changing the location for my site.  Until now, I was always using my abdomen, simply rotating from one side to the other.  This morning, when I had to change my site, I decided to use the side of my thigh, just to try something different.  So far so good!  

(CoffeeGuy) #3