Messing with non-diabetics

(Andy) #1

Let me preface this by saying I fully understand that diabetes is nothing to scoff at or make light of. I’m not that guy …

Backstory… I have a group of buddies I’ve known since we were all in grade school. Grew up in same neighborhood, same high school, in each others weddings, etc… We get together about once every year these days to get caught up. They know (thru facebook mostly) that I’m a newbie to T1D.

I love these guys like brothers. I know they are worried about me. I know they know next to nothing about diabetes.I know tomorrow night I’m gonna have to (re)explain what diabetes is and what it is not. I’m gonna have to (more or less) calm them down. But, before I do that, I wanna mess with 'em a little bit…

I know this is wrong but has anyone in here ever messed with a non-diabetic? I can’t be the first T1D to ever think of a good diabetic practical joke to pull on 6 of my oldest and trusted friends, can I?

(Bill) #2

Andy @AJZimmerman,

I’ve seen too much, and experienced too much in my lifetime to make a prank of diabetes, even with ol’ buds. Remember the lesson in the boy who cried, “Wolf!”…

And maybe I’ve lost my sense of humor.

Have a fun reunion with your friends!

Bill

(Andy) #3

Scratching the idea.

Never intended to poke fun at diabetics. More wanting to poke fun at my.non diabetic friends and their overdramatic reaction to the whole thing.

(jdsnyc1421) #4

You may want to do a google search: ‘The Onion Diabetes’ - there’s some pretty funny spoof articles you can forward to your friends prior to meeting to help ‘break the ice’.
And no, I’m not making light of diabetes. I’ve been T1D for over 25yrs, and like all, need to laugh in the face of adversity from time to time.
john

(Mara) #5

Well, this isn’t exactly poking fun or making a joke out of it… It’s more like leveraging something horrible and somehow making it work for you.