New...Got some questions!

(Chelcie K) #1

Hi, my name is Chelcie and I have been a diabetic for 10 years now. Im new to this whole thing but am really liking what i'm seeing so far. I was hoping to maybe get some insight? I am on a humalog pen and levemir pen now and have been for a while. I had the pump when it first came out but i didn't really like it, mainly because i have so much scar tissue on my stomach from it. Have the pumps gotten better? 

And whats up with the CGM. Are they really that good?

Please help!! I can not talk to anyone else about it because I am the only diabetic I know.

Thanks!

Chels

(Eric_Carpenter) #2

Hi Chelcie, welcome aboard.  You'll find there are a lot of differing views on this site, some of us like pumps and cgms, some don't.  I'm using a pump that is several years old and while I have a red dot where the catheter was after removing the set, I don't get scar tissue.  Overall I prefer pump to syringes.  My endo does not recommend cgms at this point, and I haven't seen enough info to persuade me to get one yet.  Others on the site love them and have endured insurance battles to get them...there are several technology related groups you can join, or you can search for them in the search bar at the top right of any page on juvenation.

(svc428) #3

i'm also on the pump and definitely like it and haven't experienced any scar tissue yet and it's been to years. as far as cgms go one of my good friends recently got one by animas and it is always within 10 points of her actually blood sugar.

(AuDAlly) #4

Hi Chelcie!