New To The Chat

(Mae) #1

I’ve had diabetes since the age of ten. I do have a great support group behind me but I still feel like they don’t completely understand me. I’m just hoping to meet people that can relate to me. I’m also hoping I make new friends by joining this chat. :blush:

(Dennis J. Dacey, PWD) #2

Hi Mae @MaeMae,
Welcome to this site, it is nice having you. I’m certain that here you will meet some people who will understand what you have gone through, what you are experiencing and maybe what you will be experiencing a few years from now. I’ve found that, even though I’ve lived with T1D for over 60 years that I’m still learning things about myself from folks on this site - I hope I never stop learning.

I’m not surprised that those in your support group, unless they also have TypeOne, will ever fully understand. TypeOne had to be lived in order to fully understand. I’ve been married for over 50 years and even though my wife is my greatest support and counselor, I know she doesn’t “feel” fully what I’m experiencing - even though some evenings while I’m reading in the living room and she is watching TV she will say from across the room, “… are you starting to feel low?”… Of course I’ll say “no” but then almost always realize she is right. Ahhhhhhh woman’s intuition.

(Mae) #3

That’s what I’m hoping for I only have two other members in my family with diabetes but they have type two plus there much older then I am so I was hoping to meet others more around my age group. I’ve never meet anyone with diabetes outside my family it will be nice talking to others with diabetes and get there view on things. I’m happy to hear that because I’m always looking for new ways to help improve my overall health. That’s exactly how I feel my family members do that too.

(tedquick) #4

Maemae,