Newly diagnosed, want to start exercising

(Justaguy123) #1

I am 26 and was diagnosed 11 days ago. I'm still learning about how the insulin and food affects the way I feel, and I think I'm doing an alright job so far. However, if I'm out and about walking for 30-45 minutes, I start feeling a little hypo and need to eat a snack. I'd like to be able to walk around more and also start exercising, but have some fears. Any advice?

(TextingMyPancreas) #2

Hi, and welcome to Juvenation!  :) 

T1 has such a learning curve, and you've no doubt got a lot on your mind right now, so good for you for wanting to figure out exercise already.  I think you'll find a lot of people on here to use as a resource and exchange information with.  You may be interested in checking out the "Diabetic Atheletes" and "Exercise & Fitness" under the Groups tab.  Lots of good info there, too.

30 minutes of walking will make most of us drop low, too.  With a little bit of planning ahead (and a lot of trial and error), you can learn how to head off that issue.  You may find that eating 10-15 grams of carb prior to your walk (maybe 15 - 30 minutes before), as a starting point, will help.  The amount of, and timing, of your carb intake will vary by person, so you'll just have to play around with it a bit (and be sure to bring your meter with you on your walk, so you can test and see how you're responding).

The greatest enemy of fear is knowledge.  If you're interested, here's a book that has really helped me figure out how different types and durations of exercise affect me as a T1:  The Diabetic Athelete's Handbook by Dr. Sheri Colberg.  The author was diagnosed with T1 in 1968, and is an Exercise Physiologist, so she really knows what she's talking about when it comes to this stuff.

Best of luck!

Kim

(ajax) #3

I wonder if i'll ever stop feeling newly diagnosed. It's been a year and a half, and i am still caught totally off guard by things.