Parents I need your help!

(Gabriela) #1

My name is Gaby, and I’m a senior graphic design student attending the University of Cincinnati’s College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning Program. I’ve been a type 1 diabetic for 20 years. As my capstone project, I intend, through the use of design facilitate a more efficient channel of communication between parents of students with Type 1 Diabetes and elementary school personnel. Has anyone experienced a disconnect communicating with school personnel about their child’s needs? What was your issue? In your opinion, what is needed to fix the problem? I’m beginning my research, and any input would be much appreciated!

(Amy) #2

My daughter goes to a school without a paid nurse. One of the secretaries happen to be a nurse in her past. The language used by type 1’s can get lost in translation. I would suggest the child take with them a sheet that describes what each word ie bolus actually means. We may forget that our language is not understood by the masses.

(Tracie) #3