Traveling with medtronic 670g and guardian 3 sensors

(Kathy) #1

I’m new to pumping and CGM. I will soon be traveling. I understand that the 670g, transmitter and an inserted sensor cannot go though x ray (or the airport body scanners). My question is about spare guardian 3 sensors. Can they go through the standard airport carryon screening or do the sensors have to be pulled out of carryon and hand inspected by an officer. I’ve called and asked Medtronic twice on this with different answers - one was sensors cannot be xrayed - they must be hand inspected. The other time what I got was its okay for your spare sensors to go through standard airport carryon screening (e.g. they can be xrayed). Does anyone know what the correct answer is? Checked their travel web page but could not find anything on this situation.

(flebeccaann) #2

Hi Kathy,

I’ve used Medtronic sensors before and here’s the right answer to your question!
The device you wear on your body has the sensor and transmitter components. The transmitter is the part that cannot go through the body scanners, but the sensor part can. So, for your extra sensors in your bag, those will be fine to go through the x-ray machine in your bag. A TSA agent may pull your bag aside to check out what’s in there, but I’ve only had that happen once (and I’ve traveled a fair amount) and as soon as I told them I was T1D, they didn’t have a problem.
Keep in mind that you can still go through metal detectors with your transmitter, and if you want to be on the cautious side, you can ask to be wanded or do a pat down.

(doug) #3

I’ve traveled a few times since getting the 670 and GCM. I’ve gone through the metal detector and body scanner wearing both. No problem. I’ve put extra GCMs through the carry-on X-ray without an issue. Medtronic says to never put the pump through the carry-on X-ray.

As you go through, tell TSA you’re wearing a medical device. All seem to know how to handle it. Especially in busy airports.

(Jm1977) #4