Trying to do right

(sammons) #1

I have been diabetic since i was 3 yrs old now 27. I suck at this. I have never been able to control my bs and i want to so bad. I should have this under control i wish i did. any help? I gotta get this under control.

(joe) #2

hi @sammons,

I have t1 since 1979, but I spent a very long time depressed. One of the things I used to do was negative self-talk. I had no idea at the time how destructive that was to do to myself and how it was part of the problems keeping me prisoner.

so I have a lot of experience…can I control my blood sugar - perfectly, all the time? heck no. am I a bad person because I get a 360 after I forget to take insulin… no again.

I had to do a lot of work on self-esteem, and a lot of thinking about how I hated the disease and wanted it gone, because everything that came out of that mindset was hurtful to me. I hope you have access to help. figuring out what’s in you own head takes time and patience and kindness. after this passes and if you want it, you will find acceptance.

things that help: do something nice for yourself, anything really - it’s harder than it sounds
help others, especially others with chronic illness or even diabetes, this really helps me
I bet you are pretty good at helping your friends - be a friend to yourself and use those feelings and the things you would do for a friend in need, for yourself.

and check back in. talking about it helps the most… a pain shared is half the pain. good luck.

(tedquick) #3

This brings to mind what my Mom told me when I was 6 or 7, after being diagnosed at age 5:
"Everybody has problems of some kind. Some have a lot of headaches, some have upset stomachs, some have heart disease. YOU have diabetes, so you need to deal with it, full time and all the time."