Weight loss and fitness

(Annie) #1

I was diagnosed last October and am 30 years old. I found out I was T1D while I’m hosp after surgery to have my thyroid removed. Since getting my synthetic thyroid levels normal I have gained 30 pounds. I’ve never had an issue with weight and am not sure what to do. When I try to work out my sugar always drops. Does anyone have any tips on how to work out and lose weight and still control my sugar levels. Thank you I feel so lost with all of this.

(Cosette) #2

I’m not a doctor but I am a personal trainer, have you tried sipping Gatorade or increasing a preworkout snack? I water down Gatorade for my son when we do heavier activities to help try and balance

(BookwormNerd13) #3

Dropping during fitness is definitely a struggle. I’m on my school’s tennis team and I’ve definitely had problems with gong low during matches. I have found that bringing a bottle of Gatorade or another similar drink onto the court with me is a good way to keep from dropping; I typically take a few sips between points when I feel it’s needed. I also recently got a CGM, which is super helpful because I can see when my levels are dropping and prevent them from going too low. If you don’t have one, I suggest looking into it.

(Annie) #4

Thank you. I have recently gotten a CGM and a pump which have helped to get me level! I’m not sure what kind of snack would be great. I will try the Gatorade and see if that helps. I’ve always been quite active and it’s been really hard to work out like I used to. What would you recommend as a good pre work out snack that won’t spike me? Thank you so much for the advice!

(BookwormNerd13) #5